The Return of the Manila Finance Guy

I’m back!

After two years of hiatus while I am pursuing my masters degree, I’m glad to announce my return to the blogosphere, still dedicated to promoting good personal finance among readers lucky (or unfortunate!) enough to chance upon this blog.

I have completely transitioned from a career in the world of financial research to one that is closer to my heart – development work. But I think that the two are not necessarily worlds apart. In fact, successful development means that we are able to create financially independent individuals who need not depend on government dole outs or the charity of others. In development work, we talk a lot about “aid fatigue” or “charity” fatigue” – a point at which donors would feel that they have given enough but they still haven’t seen any improvement or any step toward individual developmental independence.

My return to the blogosphere will also chronicle my return to financial independence. At this point, I must admit that a career change – and a move to another country – can be very detrimental to your financial position. However, I see graduate education as a very important investment and I believe that the financial decisions that I have made in relation to my career shift will eventually bear fruit. It also doesn’t help that I am happier, career-wise.

In any case, watch out for this space regularly as I create more content for our mutual continuing education in the field of personal finance.

I’m very happy to be back!

About Benedict Bernabe

Benedict Bernabe, 27. Benedict has a Master's degree in Development Studies from the University of Melbourne, Australia and a Bachelor of Arts degree in European Languages, cum laude, from the University of the Philippines Diliman. He has worked with the United Nations in the Philippines as the Community Facilitator of the Community of Practice on HIV&AIDS. He worked with Standard & Poor's Capital IQ, a financial information company, as researcher, translator and quality analyst in the investment research team. Prior to this, we worked at IBM Business Services. Benedict is a certified yoga teacher.

Leave a Reply

